AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get pet supplies delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

A PetsPlusMag report lists pet foods that can be stored outside the freezer, including air-dried, freeze-dried, cold-pressed and gently cooked products. The products vary by species, ingredients, package size and price; their nutrition and health benefits are manufacturer claims, not independent findings in the report.

PetsPlusMag has published a roundup of air-dried, freeze-dried, cold-pressed and gently cooked pet foods that are marketed for storage outside the freezer, giving pet owners alternatives to frozen fresh-food products. The listed items cover dogs and cats and include ready-to-serve pouches, dry foods and crunchy recipes, though the report does not independently verify nutrition or health claims made by their manufacturers.

The roundup describes products from several brands, with different processing methods and ingredients. UNCONDITIONAL’s air-dried beef recipe lists U.S. beef as its first ingredient and is described as containing 80% protein. RAWZ’s air-dried recipes are listed as containing 96% meat and organ meat, while Redbarn’s cat chicken recipe is described as containing 91% chicken and chicken organs. Those percentages and product features are supplied in the report; it does not specify how the percentages are calculated.

Some entries focus on food that can be served without thawing or refrigeration. Nulo’s gently cooked meals come in 3.5-ounce pouches and are described as ready to serve without freezing or refrigeration. Health Extension lists a gently cooked salmon recipe for dogs, while Natural Balance offers shelf-stable homestyle meals in 9- and 16-ounce packages. Canagan’s gently cooked dog recipes include chicken with chicken liver, as well as options with beef, salmon, duck, lamb and tuna.

The roundup also includes Smalls freeze-dried chicken and turkey recipes for cats and Elementary cold-pressed dog food. Product prices listed range from $1.99 for a 3-ounce Health Extension pouch to $120 for a 20-pound Elementary bag; package size and product type differ, so the prices are not directly comparable. Other listed prices include $2.89 for a 3.5-ounce Nulo pouch and $5.98 or $9.98 for Natural Balance packages, depending on size.

At a glance
reportWhen: Published in the supplied PetsPlusMag r…
The developmentPetsPlusMag published a product roundup of shelf-stable pet foods marketed as premium options that do not require freezer storage.

Storage Options for Busy Pet Households

The products address a practical concern for owners who want alternatives to frozen pet food: storage and serving convenience. Shelf-stable formats can avoid freezer space and thawing, while pouches and air-dried foods offer different serving routines. That distinction may matter in households with limited freezer capacity or owners looking for food that can be stored at room temperature before opening.

Convenience does not establish that one processing method or recipe is nutritionally superior. The report presents manufacturers’ descriptions, including claims about digestibility, immune support, skin and coat, joints and energy. It provides no comparative feeding trial, independent nutrient analysis or evidence that these products produce the stated outcomes. Owners choosing a food still need to check its suitability for the pet’s species, life stage and health needs.

Amazon

shelf-stable gently cooked dog food pouches

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

How the Listed Foods Are Processed

The products fall into several categories rather than one uniform kind of “fresh” food. Air-dried foods remove moisture during processing; freeze-dried products are also dried but use freezing as part of the process. Gently cooked foods are cooked and sold in packages the brands describe as ready to serve, while cold-pressed food uses a different production method. The report does not give detailed processing specifications for every item.

Several brands describe recipes as minimally processed or say their methods preserve nutrients and flavor. These are manufacturer claims as presented by PetsPlusMag, not findings established through testing in the article. The roundup also lists varied ingredients, from beef, chicken and fish to grains, vegetables, herbs and supplements. Some products are formulated for dogs, some for cats, and some are presented for particular uses or life stages; the listings should not be read as interchangeable feeding recommendations.

Amazon

air-dried dog food beef recipe

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Nutrition Claims Need Verification

The supplied report does not identify a publication date, explain how its products were selected, or provide independent testing of their nutritional adequacy. It also does not clarify the measurement basis behind the stated protein and meat percentages. Claims such as supporting digestion, joints, immune function or skin and coat are attributed to product descriptions, and the report supplies no study results showing those effects.

Prices and availability may vary by retailer and location; the roundup does not state when prices were checked or whether they include delivery. “Shelf-stable” and “no refrigeration” descriptions concern storage before serving as presented by the brands. The report does not give opened-package storage instructions, so consumers should follow the product label rather than assume opened food can remain unrefrigerated.

Amazon

freeze-dried cat food chicken turkey

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Check Labels Before Choosing

The article does not announce a test, recall, regulatory decision or scheduled follow-up. For shoppers, the immediate next step is to compare the complete product label, including the intended species and life stage, feeding directions, storage instructions and nutritional adequacy statement. Questions about whether a particular recipe suits an animal’s medical needs should be directed to a veterinarian.

Retail availability and current pricing should be confirmed with the manufacturer or seller, since the roundup gives contact details but no stock or price-update schedule. Further reporting would be needed to compare the products’ nutrient profiles or substantiate the health and processing claims beyond the information supplied by the brands.

Amazon

cold-pressed dog food

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Key Questions

What is the news in the roundup?

PetsPlusMag listed a range of pet foods marketed for storage outside the freezer, including air-dried, freeze-dried, cold-pressed and gently cooked options for dogs and cats.

Do these products require refrigeration?

Some entries, including Nulo’s gently cooked meals, are described as needing no freezing or refrigeration before serving. Storage directions can differ by product, especially after opening, so check the package label.

Are the listed nutrition benefits independently confirmed?

No independent testing or feeding-study results are provided in the supplied report. Claims about protein content, digestibility and health benefits are presented as product or manufacturer descriptions.

How much do the foods cost?

Prices in the roundup range from $1.99 for a 3-ounce Health Extension pouch to $120 for a 20-pound Elementary bag. Package sizes and food types vary, and current prices should be checked with sellers.

How should an owner decide whether a product is appropriate?

Check the label for the intended species, life stage, feeding guidance and storage instructions. Ask a veterinarian whether a food is appropriate for a pet with a health condition or special dietary needs.

Source: rss

Pet-care content is informational — consult your veterinarian for advice about your animal.
FALL

Fall Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

Meat Recalls And Imports: How To Find More Humane Food Locally

An ASPCA report links recent meat recalls and a U.S. beef import plan to shopper questions, and points to ShopKind for finding local farms.

Homemade Treat Storage: How Long Is Too Long?

No matter your homemade treat, knowing how long to store it can prevent waste and ensure freshness—discover the secrets to perfect storage.

Smalls Earns Sweeping Recognition From Clean Label Project

Eight Smalls cat food recipes earned the Clean Label Project Purity Award, and a ninth received Clean Label Project Certification after product testing.

Why Your Dog’s Coat Can Reveal Diet Problems First

Ineffective diets can show up first in your dog’s coat, and understanding these signs helps you catch issues early and improve their health.