For a versatile everyday pick, I’d start with The Honest Kitchen Whole Grain Goat’s Milk N’ Cookies: its pumpkin recipe and crunchy biscuit format suit dogs who enjoy a more substantial reward. Fruitables Pumpkin & Apple stands out for smaller, lower-calorie treating, while Blue Buffalo Health Bars offer a familiar pumpkin-and-cinnamon biscuit style. The main tradeoffs are biscuit size, calorie control, ingredient preferences, and whether your dog prefers a plain crunchy treat or a recipe with extra flavors or coatings. A pumpkin label alone does not tell you how a treat fits your dog’s diet or training routine. Read on for how all 15 options differ and which type of buyer each one suits.
Get pet supplies delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- The Honest Kitchen Whole Grain Goat’s Milk N’ Cookies is the most balanced starting point in this lineup, combining a pumpkin recipe with a crunchy format described for training and general treating.
- Fruitables Pumpkin & Apple is the clearest option for buyers prioritizing lower-calorie rewards; its smaller bag may be less convenient for households that give treats often.
- Several picks add a second flavor, such as carrot, cinnamon, apple, blueberry, peanut butter, or chicken. Those extras create more choice, but they can complicate ingredient preferences and allergy checks.
- The lineup spans mini biscuits, larger biscuits, wrapped treats, and grain-free recipes, so biscuit size and texture may matter more than the shared pumpkin theme.
- Bag size varies widely, from 7 oz to 1 lb and multi-pack formats. Buyers should compare how quickly their dog will finish a package and how well the treat can be stored after opening.
| pumpkin dog biscuit | Brand | Flavor | Weight | Form |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Honest Kitchen Whole Grain | The Honest Kitchen | Pumpkin | 8 oz | — |
| Wellness Old Mother Hubbard Gr | Old Mother Hubbard | Pumpkin & carrot | 16 oz | — |
| Blue Buffalo Health Bars Pumpk | Blue Buffalo | Pumpkin & cinnamon | 16 oz | — |
| Buddy Biscuits Crunchy Wheat-F | Buddy Biscuits | Pumpkin | 14 oz | — |
| Fruitables Baked Dog Treats | Fruitables | Pumpkin & apple | 7 oz | — |
| Merrick Oven Baked Pumpkin Dog | Merrick | Pumpkin | 11 oz | Wafer |
| Wholesome Pride Nature’s Biscu | Wholesome Pride | Pumpkin | 16 oz | Chewable |
| Fruitables Biggies Dog Biscuit | Fruitables | Pumpkin and blueberry | 16 oz | Crunchy biscuit |
| Pawmate Dog Treats Chicken Wra | Pawmate | Chicken and pumpkin biscuit | 10.6 oz | Stick |
| The Farmer’s Dog Human-Grade C | The Farmer’s Dog | Peanut butter and pumpkin | 10 oz | Crunchy, chewable biscuit |
| Wag More Bark Less Crunchy Dog | Cloud Star | Pumpkin | — | Crunchy |
| Wag Expedition Organic Dog Bis | WAG | Pumpkin & chia seed | — | — |
| Portland Pet Food Pumpkin Dog | Portland Pet Food Company | Pumpkin | — | — |
| Blue Buffalo Boo Bars Pumpkin | Blue Buffalo | Pumpkin & cinnamon | — | Dry biscuit |
| Benefit Biscuits Dog Treats | Benefit Pet Products | Pumpkin | — | Biscuit |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Goat’s milk, pumpkin, and probiotic support give this biscuit a more digestion-focused profile than the straightforward pumpkin treats in this roundup. The crunchy discs are intended for training and everyday rewards, and the all-life-stages, all-breed sizing makes them a flexible pick for households with dogs at different stages. Compared with Fruitables Pumpkin & Apple, which lists 8 calories per treat, The Honest Kitchen does not provide a calorie figure here, so it is harder to portion precisely for a weight-management plan. Its 8 oz bag is also smaller than the 16 oz options from Old Mother Hubbard and Blue Buffalo. I’d choose it for owners who prioritize the listed probiotic and digestive-health benefits; dogs with specific ingredient restrictions or buyers wanting a larger supply should look elsewhere.
Pros:- Lists goat’s milk and pumpkin as main ingredients.
- Includes probiotic support and digestive-health benefits in the product data.
- Crunchy disc form suits training and everyday snacking.
- Listed for all life stages and breed sizes.
Cons:- The 8 oz bag is smaller than the 16 oz Old Mother Hubbard and Blue Buffalo options.
- No calorie-per-treat figure is provided in the supplied data.
- The limited-ingredient positioning may not fit every dog’s dietary needs.
Best for: Dog owners seeking a pumpkin training treat with listed probiotic and digestive-health support for dogs of any life stage.
Not ideal for: Owners who need a stated calorie count, a larger bag, or a treat tailored to a specific dietary restriction.
- Brand:The Honest Kitchen
- Flavor:Pumpkin
- Main ingredients:Goat’s milk, pumpkin
- Weight:8 oz
- Item form:Discs
- Age range:All life stages
- Diet type:Limited ingredient
- Probiotic support:Yes
Our verdict“Choose this if probiotic and digestive-health support matter more to you than a larger bag or clearly stated calories.”
Wellness Old Mother Hubbard Grain-Free Pick of the Patch Dog Biscuits, Pumpkin & Carrot, Mini Size, 16 oz
Mini size and a 16 oz bag make these a practical fit for frequent reward-giving, especially when you want small bites rather than a larger biscuit to break up. Pumpkin, carrot, and chickpeas create a different recipe profile from Buddy Biscuits Pumpkin, which keeps its flavor focused on pumpkin and emphasizes wheat-free ingredients. This option is labeled grain-free and lists soy- and wheat-free allergen information, but its chickpeas may not suit every dog, and the supplied data gives no calorie count. The mini format can stretch across many training moments, though it may feel insubstantial for owners seeking a more substantial chew or reward for a large dog. I’d pick it for small-bite training and skip it if chickpeas are a concern.
Pros:- Mini format is suited to repeated training rewards.
- The 16 oz bag provides more product than the 8 oz The Honest Kitchen option.
- Listed as grain-free, wheat-free, and soy-free.
- Combines pumpkin and carrot with chickpeas.
Cons:- Chickpeas may not suit dogs with ingredient sensitivities.
- No calorie-per-treat information is supplied.
- Mini biscuits may be too small for owners seeking a substantial chew or reward.
Best for: Owners who reward often and want a grain-free, mini pumpkin-and-carrot biscuit in a 16 oz bag.
Not ideal for: Owners whose dogs are sensitive to chickpeas, or those who want a larger biscuit and calorie information for portion planning.
- Brand:Old Mother Hubbard
- Flavor:Pumpkin & carrot
- Size:Mini
- Weight:16 oz
- Special ingredients:Grain-free
- Item form:Treat
- Allergen information:Soy-free, wheat-free
- Uses:Snacking, dog training
Our verdict“Pick these for frequent small rewards and a grain-free recipe, provided your dog tolerates chickpeas.”
Blue Buffalo Health Bars Pumpkin & Cinnamon Dog Biscuits, 16 oz
Pumpkin, cinnamon, and a 16 oz bag make these a good match for owners who want a familiar oven-baked biscuit for both snacks and training. The listed antioxidant and Omega-3 benefits give them a broader wellness angle than Buddy Biscuits Pumpkin, whose supplied details focus more on wheat-free, simple ingredients. Blue Buffalo also lists corn-free, gluten-free, and soy-free allergen information, though that does not establish suitability for every sensitive dog. Unlike Fruitables Pumpkin & Apple, the product data here does not state calories per treat, which makes precise reward budgeting harder. The pumpkin-and-cinnamon flavor is the defining appeal, but it also means less variety for dogs that prefer a plainer pumpkin recipe. Choose these for a crunchy, multi-purpose biscuit; skip them if calorie tracking is a priority.
Pros:- 16 oz bag suits households that want a larger supply.
- Oven-baked wafer form offers a crunchy snack or training reward.
- Product description lists antioxidants and Omega-3 fatty acids.
- Listed as corn-free, gluten-free, and soy-free.
Cons:- No calorie-per-treat figure is included in the supplied data.
- Pumpkin-and-cinnamon flavor may not suit dogs that prefer a simpler recipe.
- The supplied details do not specify the biscuit dimensions or serving guidance.
Best for: Owners wanting a 16 oz oven-baked pumpkin-and-cinnamon biscuit for both everyday snacking and training.
Not ideal for: Owners who need calorie information per biscuit or want a simpler pumpkin-only flavor profile.
- Brand:Blue Buffalo
- Flavor:Pumpkin & cinnamon
- Weight:16 oz
- Age range:All life stages
- Item form:Wafer
- Container type:Bag
- Allergen information:Corn-free, gluten-free, soy-free
- Specific uses:Training, snacking
Our verdict“Choose Blue Buffalo for a larger bag of crunchy pumpkin-and-cinnamon biscuits, but favor Fruitables if calorie tracking matters.”
Buddy Biscuits Crunchy Wheat-Free Dog Treats, Pumpkin, 14 oz Box
Wheat-free ingredients and a pumpkin-only flavor set Buddy Biscuits apart from the more mixed recipes in this group. Where Old Mother Hubbard Pick of the Patch combines pumpkin and carrot with chickpeas, this option keeps its stated special ingredient centered on pumpkin, which may appeal to shoppers looking for a more straightforward flavor. Its 14 oz box is larger than The Honest Kitchen’s 8 oz bag, though smaller than the 16 oz Blue Buffalo and Old Mother Hubbard packages. The crunchy texture may be less suitable for very young puppies, and the supplied details do not provide calories or a specific treat size. I’d choose it for owners who value a wheat-free pumpkin biscuit and accept a firm crunch; those needing soft treats or portion data should compare other options.
Pros:- Pumpkin is the stated special ingredient, with a focused pumpkin flavor.
- Listed as wheat-free and minimally processed.
- 14 oz box is larger than The Honest Kitchen’s 8 oz package.
- Product description says the treats are baked in the USA.
Cons:- Crunchy texture may not suit very young puppies or dogs that need softer treats.
- No calorie-per-treat information is supplied.
- The supplied data does not give a specific biscuit size or detailed ingredient list.
Best for: Owners looking for a wheat-free, pumpkin-focused crunchy biscuit for adult dogs of varied sizes.
Not ideal for: Owners of very young puppies, dogs needing a softer treat, or buyers who require calorie information.
- Brand:Buddy Biscuits
- Flavor:Pumpkin
- Weight:14 oz
- Age range:All life stages
- Item form:Crunchy
- Special ingredient:Pumpkin
- Product benefit:Wheat-free treats
- Number of items:1
Our verdict“Choose Buddy Biscuits if you want a wheat-free, pumpkin-focused crunchy treat and your dog is comfortable with firm biscuits.”
Fruitables Baked Dog Treats, Low Calorie Treats, Pumpkin & Apple, 7oz
Eight calories per treat is the clearest practical advantage in this lineup for owners who count rewards or manage portions. Pumpkin and apple add a fruit-and-vegetable flavor, while the supplied description says the recipe avoids artificial fillers, wheat, corn, and soy. Compared with Blue Buffalo Health Bars, which come in a 16 oz bag but list no calorie figure here, Fruitables makes reward budgeting easier at the cost of a much smaller 7 oz package. The chunk form is crunchy, so it may not work for dogs that need soft treats, and the data does not provide a detailed ingredient list for checking every sensitivity. I’d choose this for frequent, measured training rewards; owners prioritizing bag size or a soft texture should look elsewhere.
Pros:- Lists 8 calories per treat for portion planning.
- Pumpkin-and-apple flavor provides an alternative to pumpkin-only biscuits.
- Product description says it contains no wheat, corn, or soy.
- Made in the USA according to the supplied specs.
Cons:- The 7 oz bag is smaller than the 14–16 oz packages from several alternatives.
- Crunchy texture may not suit dogs that need soft treats.
- The supplied data does not include a full ingredient list for sensitivity checks.
Best for: Owners who give frequent training rewards and want a stated calorie count to help manage daily treat portions.
Not ideal for: Owners seeking a larger bag, a soft treat, or a fully detailed ingredient list for checking specific sensitivities.
- Brand:Fruitables
- Flavor:Pumpkin & apple
- Weight:7 oz
- Item form:Chunk
- Container type:Bag
- Calories per treat:8
- Made in:USA
Our verdict“Choose Fruitables for calorie-aware training rewards, but select a larger or softer option if those are your main needs.”
Merrick Oven Baked Pumpkin Dog Treats 11 oz Bag
Six ingredients and real pumpkin make Merrick a straightforward choice for buyers trying to keep treat recipes simple. Its wheat-free formula also avoids corn and soy, while the small-batch, oven-baked wafer offers a crunchy reward for adult dogs of all sizes. Compared with Wholesome Pride Nature’s Biscuits, Merrick lists fewer ingredients, but Wholesome Pride gives buyers a larger bag and an all-life-stages label. That makes Merrick the more focused pick for adults whose owners value a short ingredient list over extra quantity. The tradeoff is texture: these biscuits are crunchy, so they may not suit dogs with chewing or dental difficulties. The limited recipe may also be less appealing to picky dogs, and the supplied information does not identify each of its six ingredients.
Pros:- Made with real pumpkin and a stated six-ingredient recipe
- Wheat-free and listed as corn-free and soy-free
- No artificial colors, flavors, or preservatives
- Small-batch baking and an 11 oz bag
Cons:- Crunchy wafer texture may be difficult for dogs with dental or chewing issues
- The product data does not name all six ingredients
- Labeled for adult dogs rather than all life stages
Best for: Owners of adult dogs who want a wheat-free pumpkin biscuit with a short ingredient list and no artificial colors, flavors, or preservatives.
Not ideal for: Dogs that need soft treats, plus buyers who want a fully itemized ingredient list or a recipe labeled for every life stage.
- Brand:Merrick
- Flavor:Pumpkin
- Weight:11 oz
- Life stage:Adult
- Form:Wafer
- Recipe:Six ingredients
- Dietary features:Wheat-free, corn-free, soy-free
- Artificial additives:No artificial colors, flavors, or preservatives
Our verdict“Choose Merrick for an adult dog if a short, wheat-free pumpkin recipe matters more than a soft texture or an all-life-stages label.”
Wholesome Pride Nature’s Biscuits Dog Treats, Pumpkin, 16 oz
All-life-stage suitability and a 16 oz bag give Wholesome Pride a practical role for households that reward more than one dog or use biscuits regularly. Pumpkin, whole wheat flour, and molasses form a familiar crunchy biscuit, while the bone shape offers an easy-to-portion everyday reward. Compared with Merrick Oven Baked Pumpkin Dog Treats, Wholesome Pride is not wheat-free, but its label covers all life stages rather than adults only. Its stated benefits include digestive health and fresh breath; the crunchy chew may also help clean teeth as a dog gnaws. That texture is a real limitation for puppies or older dogs with dental trouble. Buyers should also note the product data names whole wheat flour, so this is a poor fit for dogs avoiding wheat, whatever the limited-ingredient positioning might suggest.
Pros:- Labeled for all life stages and all breed sizes
- 16 oz bag suits regular treat use
- Includes pumpkin, whole wheat flour, and molasses
- Made without artificial preservatives, colors, or flavors
Cons:- Contains whole wheat flour, unlike wheat-free Merrick
- Crunchy texture may not work for dogs with dental difficulties
- Product data does not provide a complete ingredient breakdown
Best for: Households with dogs at different life stages that want a larger bag of crunchy pumpkin biscuits for routine rewards.
Not ideal for: Dogs with wheat sensitivities or puppies and seniors who struggle with firm, crunchy treats.
- Brand:Wholesome Pride
- Flavor:Pumpkin
- Weight:16 oz
- Life stage:All life stages
- Form:Chewable
- Shape:Bone
- Named ingredients:Pumpkin, whole wheat flour, molasses
- Dietary features:Corn-free, soy-free
Our verdict“Pick Wholesome Pride for a multi-dog or all-life-stage household that can use wheat-based crunchy biscuits.”
Fruitables Biggies Dog Biscuits, Pumpkin & Blueberry Flavor, 16oz
Big biscuit sizing is the main reason to choose Fruitables Biggies: these crunchy treats are described as suitable for slow chewers, so they can provide a more substantial snack than a small training-style reward. Real pumpkin and blueberries bring a fruit-forward variation, while the 16 oz bag matches the larger format of Wholesome Pride Nature’s Biscuits. The flavor combination also sets it apart from that single-pumpkin option and from Merrick’s pumpkin wafers. The tradeoff is fit: the supplied product details warn that the biscuits may be too large for small dogs, so owners may need to break them up or choose another format. Ingredient information is broad rather than detailed, and allergen information is not specified; this is less reassuring for dogs on a tightly managed diet.
Pros:- Combines real pumpkin and blueberries
- Large biscuit format is suited to slow chewers
- 16 oz bag
- Made in the USA
Cons:- Large size may not suit small dogs without breaking the biscuit
- Allergen details are not provided
- Ingredient information does not give a complete recipe
Best for: Owners of medium or large dogs who want a substantial, slow-to-eat crunchy biscuit with pumpkin and blueberry.
Not ideal for: Small-dog owners who need bite-sized rewards, or buyers who need confirmed allergen details and a full ingredient list.
- Brand:Fruitables
- Flavor:Pumpkin and blueberry
- Weight:16 oz
- Form:Crunchy biscuit
- Named ingredients:Real pumpkin, blueberries, wholesome ingredients
- Country of manufacture:USA
Our verdict“Choose Fruitables Biggies for a larger dog that benefits from a more substantial pumpkin-and-blueberry chew, not for small, frequent training rewards.”
Pawmate Dog Treats Chicken Wrapped Pumpkin Biscuits 10.6 oz
Chicken wrapped around a pumpkin biscuit gives Pawmate a different appeal from the pumpkin-first crunchy biscuits elsewhere in this roundup. It suits dogs more drawn to a savory reward, while the stick form can work for chewing or training when a more substantial treat is wanted. The product is listed as grain-free and rawhide-free, with claims including high fiber, high protein, low fat, and no added sugar. Compared with Merrick Oven Baked Pumpkin Dog Treats, this is the meat-forward option rather than a simple pumpkin wafer; compared with Fruitables Biggies, it is listed for small, medium, and large dogs. The tradeoff is recipe transparency: sourcing details are limited, and the chicken component makes this a less direct choice for dogs needing a pumpkin-only treat or avoiding chicken.
Pros:- Chicken-wrapped pumpkin biscuit offers a savory alternative to plain pumpkin treats
- Listed as grain-free and rawhide-free
- Claims high fiber, high protein, low fat, and no added sugar
- Listed for all life stages and small, medium, and large dogs
Cons:- Chicken makes it unsuitable for dogs avoiding that protein
- Ingredient sourcing details are limited
- Stick format differs from conventional crunchy pumpkin biscuits
Best for: Owners of dogs that prefer savory chicken rewards and want a grain-free, rawhide-free stick treat with pumpkin.
Not ideal for: Dogs avoiding chicken, or owners seeking a simple pumpkin-only biscuit with detailed ingredient sourcing.
- Brand:Pawmate
- Flavor:Chicken and pumpkin biscuit
- Weight:10.6 oz
- Form:Stick
- Life stage:All life stages
- Dietary features:Grain-free, rawhide-free
- Nutrient claims:High fiber, high protein, low fat, no added sugar
- Intended uses:Dental care, digestive health, training
Our verdict“Choose Pawmate when your dog prefers chicken-led treats and can tolerate the added protein alongside pumpkin.”
The Farmer’s Dog Human-Grade Crunchy Dog Biscuits, Peanut Butter & Pumpkin
Nine calories per biscuit make The Farmer’s Dog a clear pick for owners who want to keep track of treat portions without giving up a crunchy pumpkin snack. Peanut butter adds a second flavor alongside pumpkin, and the human-grade ingredient claim distinguishes it from Wholesome Pride Nature’s Biscuits, whose recipe includes whole wheat flour and molasses. This pouch is labeled for all life stages and all breed sizes, giving it broader stated age coverage than Merrick’s adult-only biscuits. The tradeoff is that pumpkin is not the only flavor, and the supplied details do not spell out the full recipe or explain allergen sensitivities. That matters for dogs with specific dietary restrictions, especially when peanut butter is part of the flavor. The 10 oz pouch is also smaller by weight than the 16 oz Wholesome Pride bag.
Pros:- Nine calories per biscuit supports portion tracking
- Human-grade ingredient claim
- Labeled for all life stages and all breed sizes
- Peanut butter and pumpkin provide a two-flavor option
Cons:- Peanut butter flavor may not suit dogs needing a pumpkin-only treat
- Full ingredient and allergen details are not provided
- 10 oz pouch is smaller than the 16 oz Wholesome Pride bag
Best for: Owners counting treat calories who want a human-grade, crunchy biscuit for dogs of different sizes or ages.
Not ideal for: Dogs that need a pumpkin-only flavor or owners who require a detailed ingredient and allergen breakdown.
- Brand:The Farmer’s Dog
- Flavor:Peanut butter and pumpkin
- Weight:10 oz
- Form:Crunchy, chewable biscuit
- Calories per biscuit:9
- Life stage:All life stages
- Ingredient claim:Human-grade
- Container:Pouch
Our verdict“Pick The Farmer’s Dog biscuits if calorie tracking and a human-grade claim matter more than a single-flavor recipe or a larger bag.”
Wag More Bark Less Crunchy Dog Treats, Pumpkin, 14 oz Box
Wag More Bark Less is a strong fit for buyers who want pumpkin biscuits with a stated calorie count: 26 calories per treat makes portion planning easier than with options whose descriptions give no per-biscuit figure. Pumpkin and flaxseed are the featured ingredients, and the treats are oven-baked in small batches without artificial colors or flavors. They are also grain-free and gluten-free, which may suit some households managing ingredient preferences, though those claims do not make them appropriate for every dog with a sensitivity.
Compared with Benefit Biscuits, this pick supplies a specific calorie figure, while Benefit emphasizes vegan ingredients and digestive support. The tradeoff is texture: these are crunchy, so they may not suit dogs that need softer rewards. Their limited-ingredient approach also means fewer flavor cues for dogs who are picky about treats.
Pros:- Provides a stated 26 calories per treat for easier reward planning.
- Features natural pumpkin and flaxseed.
- Grain-free and gluten-free according to the product data.
- Oven-baked in small batches in the USA.
Cons:- Crunchy texture may be difficult for dogs that prefer or need soft treats.
- Limited-ingredient flavor profile may not appeal to every picky dog.
- The available description does not provide a full ingredient list.
Best for: Owners who want crunchy pumpkin rewards with a stated calorie count for portion planning.
Not ideal for: Caregivers of dogs that avoid crunchy textures or need a specific protein or ingredient verified beyond the limited details provided.
- Brand:Cloud Star
- Flavor:Pumpkin
- Package size:14 oz
- Form:Crunchy
- Calories per treat:26
- Age range:All life stages
- Diet claims:Grain-free, gluten-free, limited ingredient
- Additional features:Oven-baked in small batches in the USA
Our verdict“Choose Wag More Bark Less if calorie-aware portions and a crunchy pumpkin biscuit matter more than a soft texture or a fully detailed ingredient profile.”
Wag Expedition Organic Dog Biscuits – Pumpkin & Chia Seed, 10 oz
Wag Expedition Pumpkin & Chia Seed is the ingredient-led choice in this group, with organic, non-GMO, human-grade ingredients named in the description. Pumpkin and chia seeds give it a clear identity for buyers who prefer those ingredients over a more conventional biscuit. It is listed for all life stages and breed sizes, so the bag can serve households with dogs at different ages or sizes, subject to each dog’s dietary needs.
Compared with Wag More Bark Less, this biscuit foregrounds organic and human-grade claims rather than a stated calorie count or small-batch baking details. That makes it less helpful for buyers closely tracking treat calories. Chia seeds may also be a poor fit for dogs whose owners are avoiding seeds, and the supplied information does not describe biscuit dimensions or texture. The 10 oz bag is a defined, modest format, but there is no larger size listed here.
Pros:- Described as organic, non-GMO, and made with human-grade ingredients.
- Names pumpkin and chia seeds as ingredients.
- Listed for all life stages and breed sizes.
- Described for use as a treat or training aid.
Cons:- Contains chia seeds, which may not suit every dog or ingredient preference.
- No calorie count or biscuit texture details are supplied.
- The listed package size is 10 oz, with no alternate size provided.
Best for: Ingredient-conscious owners seeking an organic, non-GMO pumpkin biscuit with chia seeds for dogs of varied ages.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a calorie count, a seed-free recipe, or a larger package option.
- Brand:WAG
- Flavor:Pumpkin & chia seed
- Package size:10 oz
- Named ingredients:Pumpkin, chia seeds
- Ingredient claims:Organic, non-GMO, human-grade
- Breed recommendation:All breed sizes
- Age range:All life stages
- Container:Bag
Our verdict“Pick Wag Expedition if organic ingredient claims and pumpkin with chia matter more to you than calorie details or a seed-free recipe.”
Portland Pet Food Pumpkin Dog Treats, Healthy, Grain-Free Biscuits 3 Pack
Portland Pet Food Company Pumpkin Dog Treats suits buyers seeking a pumpkin-forward biscuit described as grain-free, gluten-free, and made with limited ingredients, including organic pumpkin puree. The product description also calls the treats low-calorie and suitable for dogs of all sizes and ages, making them a flexible option for everyday rewards or training. A resealable bag is useful for keeping treats contained between outings, though the supplied data does not specify the individual bag sizes in the three-pack.
Compared with Wag More Bark Less, Portland Pet Food offers a three-pack and names organic pumpkin puree, while Wag gives a precise figure of 26 calories per treat. Here, “low-calorie” is not paired with a number, so careful calorie accounting is harder. The biscuits are also crunchy; as with Wag, dogs that need soft rewards may be better served elsewhere. Buyers should check the full ingredient label for individual sensitivities.
Pros:- Features organic pumpkin puree and a limited-ingredient claim.
- Described as grain-free and gluten-free.
- Low-calorie positioning suits frequent-reward routines, though no number is supplied.
- Resealable bag format supports freshness and portability.
Cons:- The description does not state calories per biscuit.
- The three-pack listing does not specify the size of each bag.
- Crunchy biscuits may not work for dogs that need a softer texture.
Best for: Owners looking for a multi-pack of pumpkin biscuits described as grain-free and gluten-free for routine rewards or training.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need an exact calorie count, detailed pack sizing, or soft treats for dogs that struggle with hard biscuits.
- Brand:Portland Pet Food Company
- Flavor:Pumpkin
- Pack format:3-pack
- Named ingredient:Organic pumpkin puree
- Diet claims:Grain-free, gluten-free
- Ingredient approach:Limited ingredients
- Breed recommendation:All breed sizes
- Container:Resealable bag
Our verdict“Choose Portland Pet Food Company for a resealable multi-pack and pumpkin-focused, grain-free positioning, but not if you need exact calorie data.”
Blue Buffalo Boo Bars Pumpkin & Cinnamon Dog Biscuits, 11 oz
Blue Buffalo Boo Bars takes the most festive route in this lineup: pumpkin and cinnamon give the biscuit a seasonal flavor profile, while barley, carrot, and flaxseed add detail to the listed ingredients. The recipe is described as free from corn, wheat, soy, artificial flavors, and preservatives, which gives ingredient-conscious buyers several specific exclusions to check against their dog’s needs. Its all-life-stages listing broadens its potential use beyond a holiday treat.
Unlike the more straightforward pumpkin options from Wag More Bark Less and Benefit Biscuits, Boo Bars adds cinnamon and a seasonal theme rather than focusing on calorie count or vegan and digestive-support claims. The product data describes these as supplemental or intermittent treats, not a complete food. It also lists four 11 oz bags, which may be more than a household seeking a small seasonal supply needs. Check the full label for any individual sensitivities.
Pros:- Pairs pumpkin with cinnamon for a distinct seasonal flavor profile.
- Lists barley, carrot, and flaxseed among its ingredients.
- Described as free from corn, wheat, soy, artificial flavors, and preservatives.
- Listed for all life stages.
Cons:- The product is described for intermittent or supplemental feeding.
- The listing includes four 11 oz bags, which may be excessive for some households.
- No per-biscuit calorie information is provided.
Best for: Households wanting a pumpkin-and-cinnamon biscuit for seasonal celebrations, shared treat routines, or occasional rewards.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking a single small bag, a stated calorie count, or a biscuit positioned for frequent feeding as more than a supplemental treat.
- Brand:Blue Buffalo
- Flavor:Pumpkin & cinnamon
- Listed bag size:11 oz
- Number of bags:4
- Form:Dry biscuit
- Named ingredients:Barley, carrot, flaxseed, pumpkin
- Diet exclusions:Corn-free, wheat-free, soy-free
- Age range:All life stages
Our verdict“Choose Boo Bars for a seasonal pumpkin-and-cinnamon treat in a multi-bag format, not for calorie-tracked or small-quantity buying.”
Benefit Biscuits Dog Treats, Pumpkin, 1lb Bag
Benefit Biscuits Pumpkin is the clearest choice here for buyers who specifically want a vegan dog treat. The product data also identifies it as wheat-free and non-GMO, with real pumpkin and a stated focus on digestive support through natural fiber. Its 1 lb bag gives regular treat-givers a larger listed package than the 10 oz Wag Expedition biscuits, though package size alone does not say how many treats are inside or how long they will last.
Compared with Wag More Bark Less, Benefit puts vegan and digestion-related claims first rather than providing a calorie figure per biscuit. It is described as crunchy and suitable for training or everyday snacks, but that texture may not work for dogs who do better with soft rewards. The available description does not provide a full ingredient list, so owners managing specific allergies should verify the label rather than relying on broad dietary claims.
Pros:- Described as vegan, wheat-free, and non-GMO.
- Made with real pumpkin and positioned for digestive support through natural fiber.
- Listed for all life stages.
- Crunchy biscuit form can suit routine rewards and training.
Cons:- The supplied product data does not give a full ingredient list.
- No calorie count per biscuit is provided.
- Crunchy texture may not suit dogs that prefer or need soft treats.
Best for: Owners seeking a larger listed bag of pumpkin biscuits with vegan, wheat-free, and non-GMO claims.
Not ideal for: Caregivers who need a complete ingredient breakdown, exact calorie data, or soft treats for dogs that avoid crunchy biscuits.
- Brand:Benefit Pet Products
- Flavor:Pumpkin
- Package size:1 lb
- Form:Biscuit
- Diet type:Vegan
- Diet claims:Wheat-free, non-GMO
- Age range:All life stages
- Product benefit:Digestive support with natural fiber
Our verdict“Choose Benefit Biscuits if vegan and wheat-free pumpkin treats in a 1 lb bag are your priority, and check the full label for allergy details.”

How We Picked
I compared the 15 products on the details that affect day-to-day use: the listed pumpkin recipe, biscuit size or format, stated calorie or dietary positioning, package quantity, and flavor combinations. I also looked at whether a treat appears better suited to frequent small rewards, occasional larger biscuits, or dogs whose households seek grain-free or wheat-free choices. Product names and descriptions provide a starting point, but they do not establish that a treat is appropriate for every dog or that pumpkin will provide a particular health benefit.
The ranking favors options with a clear role and useful balance for common routines, rather than treating every pumpkin biscuit as interchangeable. The Honest Kitchen leads as a versatile starting point; Fruitables Pumpkin & Apple ranks highly for calorie-conscious treating; and picks with narrower appeal, such as wrapped biscuits, larger formats, or particular ingredient styles, are better matches for specific preferences. Package size, recipe details, and suitability for an individual dog can change the best choice, so I recommend checking the label and your dog’s dietary needs before buying.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Best Pumpkin Dog Biscuits
Pumpkin biscuits share a headline ingredient, but the right choice depends on how you give treats and what your dog can eat comfortably. I’d compare the complete recipe, treat size, and feeding routine before using flavor or packaging as a deciding factor.
Match Biscuit Size to the Job
A biscuit that works as an occasional reward may be awkward during training, when you may give several treats in a short session. Small pieces make repetition easier, while larger biscuits can suit a longer-lasting reward or a dog that prefers a substantial crunch. Do not assume a biscuit is easy to break just because it is crunchy; check the product details and your dog’s chewing style. For small dogs, seniors, or dogs that gulp treats, size and texture deserve extra attention. You can also break a larger biscuit into pieces if its texture and your dog’s diet allow it. Choose for your routine, not only for the package’s serving suggestion.
Read the Full Ingredient List
“Pumpkin” on the front does not mean pumpkin is the only ingredient that matters. Recipes in this group pair it with ingredients such as cinnamon, apple, carrot, blueberry, peanut butter, goat’s milk, chia, or chicken, so check the label if your dog avoids a particular food. Grain-free and wheat-free are different claims, and neither automatically means a treat is suitable for a dog with a medical diet. If your dog has a diagnosed allergy or a restricted feeding plan, compare the full ingredient panel with your veterinarian’s guidance. Avoid choosing based on a single front-of-bag claim. A simpler ingredient profile may make label checking easier, though it does not guarantee suitability.
Budget for Treat Calories, Not Just Treat Count
When treats are used often, their calories can add up alongside meals and other rewards. A product described as low calorie may be useful for frequent treating, but confirm the calories per piece and serving guidance on the current package. If that information is not clear, ask the manufacturer or choose a treat with a label you can evaluate. Smaller biscuits can help with portion control, yet a dog may receive several during one training session. One common mistake is counting biscuits without counting their contribution to the daily diet. Keep treats within the feeding plan recommended for your dog, especially when managing weight or a health condition.
Choose Crunch and Format for Your Dog
Crunchy biscuits suit dogs that enjoy a firm bite, but they are not a universal match for every mouth or chewing style. A wrapped pumpkin biscuit offers a different experience from a plain baked biscuit, while larger formats may be inconvenient for a puppy or a dog that needs small portions. Consider whether your dog tends to chew carefully or swallow treats quickly, and supervise treat time. If texture is uncertain, start with a small quantity rather than committing to a large bag. Avoid describing any biscuit as a dental treatment unless its label and supporting guidance say so. Your dog’s comfort and safe chewing matter more than a particular texture trend.
Balance Package Size With Freshness
A larger bag or multipack can be practical for a household that already knows its dog likes the recipe. For a first purchase, a smaller package limits waste if the flavor or texture misses the mark. Once opened, biscuits may lose their crunch if left exposed to air or humidity, so check the package directions and use an appropriate sealed container when advised. A large package is not automatically better value if your dog eats only a few treats or the biscuits go stale before the bag is finished. Check the net weight and number of pieces when available, since biscuit size varies. Buy a quantity that fits your dog’s pace and your storage space.
Treat Pumpkin as an Ingredient, Not a Promise
Dog biscuits containing pumpkin are still treats, not a substitute for a complete diet or veterinary care. The amount and form of pumpkin can differ by recipe, so a pumpkin-themed name does not establish a particular nutritional effect. If you are seeking a food for digestive concerns, ask your veterinarian rather than relying on a biscuit’s branding. Introduce a new treat gradually and watch for any change in your dog’s comfort or stool. Stop offering it if your dog reacts poorly, and consult your veterinarian when symptoms persist. This keeps the buying decision grounded in the actual recipe and your dog’s needs.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which pumpkin biscuit in this lineup is the best starting point for a first-time buyer?
I’d begin with The Honest Kitchen Whole Grain Goat’s Milk N’ Cookies if you want a conventional crunchy biscuit with a pumpkin recipe and a stated training-treat use. If you prefer a lower-calorie positioning, compare it with Fruitables Pumpkin & Apple and check the current label for calories per piece. Before choosing either, review the ingredient panel for foods your dog should avoid. A smaller package can reduce waste while you learn whether your dog likes the flavor and texture. Introduce any new treat in moderation.
Are grain-free pumpkin dog biscuits a better choice for dogs?
Not by default: grain-free describes an ingredient choice, not an overall quality level or a benefit every dog needs. In this roundup, Wellness Old Mother Hubbard Pick of the Patch and Portland Pet Food Pumpkin Dog Treats are among the grain-free options, while other picks use different recipe styles. If your dog has a diagnosed dietary need, follow your veterinarian’s advice and compare the complete ingredients rather than relying on the front label. A grain-free biscuit may still contain another ingredient your dog cannot tolerate. For a dog without a specific reason to avoid grains, there is no need to select grain-free solely because of the claim.
Can I use pumpkin biscuits for training without giving too many calories?
Yes, but count treats as part of your dog’s daily food plan rather than as calorie-free rewards. Fruitables Pumpkin & Apple is specifically positioned as a low-calorie treat in this lineup, making it a useful comparison point for frequent rewards. Check the package for calories per biscuit and serving guidance, since portion size and recipe details matter. For longer training sessions, smaller pieces or breaking a biscuit may help limit the amount given, if the texture allows. Ask your veterinarian how treats should fit your dog’s daily intake if weight or a medical diet is a concern.
What should I check if my dog has food sensitivities?
Read the full ingredient list, including flavor additions and any animal-derived ingredients, rather than stopping at the word pumpkin. This selection includes recipes featuring ingredients such as goat’s milk, wheat, peanut butter, chicken, and several fruits or spices, so products with similar pumpkin branding can differ substantially. “Wheat-free” and “grain-free” do not mean the same thing, and neither label confirms that a treat is safe for a particular allergy. If your dog has a diagnosed sensitivity, compare the package with your veterinarian’s instructions before offering a biscuit. When the ingredient source or cross-contact information is unclear, contact the manufacturer.
Should I buy a large bag or try a smaller package first?
For a recipe your dog has never eaten, a smaller package is usually the safer first purchase because taste and texture preferences are hard to predict. This roundup ranges from compact bags to a 1 lb option and a three-pack format, so quantity is a meaningful difference rather than a minor packaging detail. A larger bag can suit a dog that already accepts the biscuits and a household that gives treats regularly. Check storage instructions and reseal the package well to help preserve freshness after opening. If you are choosing for a sensitive eater, limit the first serving and watch how your dog responds before buying in bulk.
Conclusion
For most households seeking a straightforward pumpkin biscuit, my best overall starting point is The Honest Kitchen Whole Grain Goat’s Milk N’ Cookies, thanks to its crunchy format and training-friendly positioning. For best value by package size, consider Benefit Biscuits Pumpkin in the 1 lb bag if your dog already likes the recipe and you can store it properly; a larger package is not a good buy if it goes uneaten. For a premium-style pick, The Farmer’s Dog Human-Grade Crunchy Biscuits may appeal to shoppers drawn to that positioning, while the package details and full recipe should guide the decision. Beginners can start with a smaller-format option such as Fruitables Pumpkin & Apple, especially when calorie-conscious treating is a priority. For specific needs, look at Wellness Old Mother Hubbard or Portland Pet Food for grain-free recipes, and Pawmate Chicken Wrapped Pumpkin Biscuits if a wrapped treat is the format your dog prefers. Check each label against your dog’s diet, then choose the size and texture that fit how you actually give treats.
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.


















